Buddha Bowl Enlightenment

Before yesterday, I knew nothing of this Buddha Bowl trend. Apparently, it is a thing, a very delicious thing. I was merely looking for a simple, flavorful vegetarian recipe that I already had the ingredients for. Thank you Pinterest and Well and Full.

bbI found a wonderful recipe at Well and Full that even I could follow with success. (We added edamame to the Chickpeas).  I was able to create a vegan Buddha bowl that my husband and I both loved and loved. So this roused my curiosity, and I wanted to read and discover more of this trend that I have been missing. With this search, I have discovered some great new sites and recipes!

My first stop was Simple Vegan Blog where I found out why it was called a Buddha Bowl. “A Buddha Bowl is a bowl which is packed so full that it has a rounded “belly” appearance on the top much like the belly of a Buddha. It’s usually made with simple pure food and enjoyed with deep gratitude, according to Mind Body Green, one of my favorite health blogs.” So of course, I then clicked Mind Body Green. This site is filled with everything you might need to live a healthy lifestyle with Headers like:  Eat* Live* Move* Breath* Love*   This particular MBG link took me to some basics of the Buddha bowl but was not as in depth as I was looking for.

I was still interested in more ideas in building the Buddha bowl. The last site is by no means the least: Homemade with Sainsbury’s & The Huffington Post UK.  First of all, I fell in love with this site, and will revisit and probably write much more about it.

This too has great headers to follow down the rabbit hole: News & Features *Recipes *Meal Plans *Scrapbooks *Get Involved and Videos. (One is about how to cook the perfect Yorkshire puddings and measuring is the metric system.) …so much wonderful food snark.

16a9920fa2bdbc2f9f12a9c88dde96b3The Buddha Bowl information was great and satisfied my curiosity and need for recipes! I really enjoyed the illustrations that went with the Buddha bowl story and the much more detailed approach to the Buddha bowl. This particular article was ALL about the bowl. A great fun read with a lot of information not only about the Buddha bowl but other healthy recipes. Some last words on the Buddha Bowl from Homemade:

“Words of wisdom: It’s easy to assume that because it looks like an Instagram fever dream, every rainbow ingredient will taste the biz together too. You can’t go far wrong in the world of the Buddha bowl, but here are a few golden rules to steer you in the right direction. NB: we speak from experience.

  1. You don’t have to stick to one overall theme, but take a moment to consider the flavour of each ingredient before you add it. For example: if you’ve gone for south east Asian classics such as soy, ginger, seaweed and sesame oil, don’t add feta. Trust us on this.
  2. Wholegrains can be tough on your digestive system even before you add chickpeas, edamame, lentils AND half a chicken into the mix, so hold back on the heavyweight protein. You are a human being, not a compost heap.
  3. Don’t add anything you actively dislike. If you think arranging it prettily in a bowl is going to suddenly, magically make you love chicory, you are kidding yourself.
  4. If you’ve piled your bowl to the requisite buddha-belly height, things will spill. Try a bib.
  5. No, you can’t use a plate.”

So, I guess this particular seeker found Buddha bowl enlightenment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Buddha Bowl Enlightenment

    • Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I am pretty hapless when it comes to creating vegetarian dishes with great flavor. Your site has been a real find. 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: “Homemade – the food network with attitude” | Foodie*ism

What are your thoughts?

