So many tomatoes….what to do?

Facebook is ripe with tomato crop pictures. What to do with all of these tomatoes besides just eat them whole? I have had a few ripen here and there, but my plants on are the cusp of an actual crop. I went for it this year and planted 4 plants: Beefsteak, Roma, Arkansas 50 day, the other I don’t know and my plant marker is gone. BUT all four are loaded with green tomatoes.  My husband is already planning Gazpacho.  So, here are a few of my ideas for tomato crops: (Please feel free to share your tomato recipes.)


20140731_085510

Israeli Salad

378314

There are a variety of ways this is prepared. My husband and I usually opt for only the tomatoes, cucumbers and seasoning. This site gives a good recipe with several options to add or not. There are several places on the web that offer recipes, but ultimately you will find one that you like the combination of veggies and flavors.

http://www.joyofkosher.com/recipes/israeli-salad-2/

Tomato Pie

I was introduced to this in Edisto Island, South Carolina. My dad made one while I was visiting one summer from college. I thought it would awful and runny mess. I was so wrong.

1 -9 inch deep pie shell, baked

2-3 large tomatoes, thickly sliced and drained

2-3 Green Onions, chopped (optional) (I NEVER made mine with this and it still tasted yummers.)

Salt and pepper

Basil

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup shredded sharp cheese.

(My dad sometimes put a bit of olive oil between layers)

Fill cooled pie shell with alternating layers of tomatoes (and onions) sprinkled with salt, pepper, basil, olive oil (lightly)

Combine mayonnaise and cheese and spread over tomatoes.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Gazpacho

I’ve eaten my mother-in-laws soup and the bowl I had at the Olive and Fish in Jerusalem was divine, so I guess I need to officially add to list of try to make for myself list.

I don’t have my mother in law’s recipe but she doesn’t really write many of her recipes down, so it may take reconstructing. I’m sure there are great recipes out there, and I am open to any suggestions of a good gazpacho.

I found Alton Brown’s which sounded a lot like my mom in laws, but this one is a work in progress.

Caprese Salad

So simple and so good.

2 medium red tomatoes, cut into wedges

2 medium yellow tomatoes, cut into wedges

3/4 cup diced fresh mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

1/4 teaspoon salt

Freshly ground pepper, to taste

We like to add a bit of olive oil as well. Really, what don’t we like to add olive oil too.

So, enjoy your tomato crops and journey.

2 thoughts on “So many tomatoes….what to do?

What are your thoughts?

