Warm Cookies and Cold Milk are Good for you

“This I Believe is a public dialogue about belief-one essay at a time.” It is sponsored through NPR and is based on the 1950’s radio series of the same name hosted by Edward R. Murrow.  The new series started in 2005. I have used the format for my Composition classes, and I have used it in my own writing as a prompt.

Since our trip to Israel, I have pondered on spiritual matters and have tried to somehow capture all the lessons in a simple but detailed way.  I start, “This I Believe”… and then nothing. It all still rattles around in my head and in jumbled phrases on the screen and yes, even crumpled up paper.

I listened to and read others essays and found  inspiration to keep trying to  find my voice. The Essay that spoke to me on this day was  Speak Up by Jay Frankston.

So what is a heavy heart to do when trying to put it all in perspective and down “on paper” as the news reports the killings of Christian Kenyans,  unarmed black men, attacks in synagogues,  and ISIS be-headings? My heart continues to turn towards God and seek guidance.

Sorry to ramble so much today. So then I was reminded of what I read at my dad’s funeral:“All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten” by Robert Fulghum. It smacks a bit of the This I Believe concept.

milk and cookies

My dad loved this poem and had it framed on his wall next to all of his duck paintings.  It is so simple, but so many things I forget but need to remember.

I hope that you will check out “This I Believe” and listen to some of the wonderful essays. But, I leave you with a serving from Fulghum’s poem:

“…Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you…Live a balanced life – learn some and think some
and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day some. ”

 

 

 

 

 

What are your thoughts?

