The Brand of No Brand

not-brand1

So, if you blog and no one reads it, are you still a blogger? Yes. Yes you are.

All of what I’m about to say is really about how much I appreciate discovering all the unique worlds of bloggers out there who post every week or every day. No matter how many followers that they may or may not have, they write, take pictures and send them out. … “filament, filament, filament.”

It is the mindset of you are still a writer even when you aren’t published, but then again, I have been told that I have a bad attitude. Don’t get me wrong, I completely appreciate the BIG blogsters. They have worked hard in building their brand and their following and some have parlayed these things into novels and careers that support themselves and family. But not all who blog are going for this-are they? We aren’t all brand building? Or is blogging itself just a part of branding even when we don’t mean it to? Isn’t it okay to just blog without hyper focus on branding and building? Is that a loser mentality or just mine being too narrow? More likely the latter.

I just don’t understand the pervasive mindset of pushing a brand. Is it to keep from being branded? Stereotype ourselves before someone else does it? What I learned from my Autistic students is the power of doing your thing whether people understand it not. You must do to succeed, and you won’t always have the most followers but you must still keep doing.

I don’t tell anyone that I blog because I don’t feel like I really do or am. I don’t blog to tell others I blog or build a following. I break the cardinal rule of not posting on social media. Sometimes I do on Pinterest when there is a recipe I want to share, and usually it is another blogger’s recipe. I blog because I wanted to practice writing in a simple way every week that was a break from my other writing. I never expected followers but it is quite nice. I mean when the filament lands and connects, then we are connected and that isn’t a bad thing. But I don’t think of the connection as brand landing.

I have come to appreciate the community bloggers-big and small. It is the unique world each offers.  But I have to admit, I don’t approach blogging as a business which is obvious. I don’t think I brand, but maybe I do.  So, how does one end a rant of sorts? Well,  I will end with Whitman. Casting out my filament and perhaps it will connect.

 

spider

A Noiseless Patient Spider

Walt Whitman

A noiseless patient spider,

I mark’d where on a little promontory it stood isolated,

Mark’d how to explore the vacant vast surrounding,

It launch’d forth filament, filament, filament, out of itself,

Ever unreeling them, ever tirelessly speeding them.

And you O my soul where you stand,

Surrounded, detached, in measureless oceans of space,

Ceaselessly musing, venturing, throwing, seeking the spheres to connect them,

Till the bridge you will need be form’d, till the ductile anchor hold,

Till the gossamer thread you fling catch somewhere, O my soul.

(From Poetryfoundation.org)

 

 

 

 

What are your thoughts?

