Tomato Time

It is tomato harvest time here in Northwest Arkansas, well here at the Spalter household. I planted one tomato plant this year, beefsteak.  The harvest comes at the perfect time because I have become addicted to Israeli salad with cottage cheese in a wheat pita.

The last two years, I have been on a tomato plant strike. Two years ago, a severe drought killed my two plants. I got one little Roma and that was it. Last year, I couldn’t bring myself to plant one. It didn’t seem the same without my dad here to call and ask about my plant’s progress. This year, my one small plant has become the proverbial Little Shop of Horrors plant (no blood though).

20140731_085510

With this boon of tomatoes and several green on the vine, I felt compelled to share my favorite tomato recipes:

Israeli Salad

There are different ways this is prepared. My husband and I usually opt for only the tomatoes, cucumbers and seasoning.  378314

This site gives a good recipe with several options to add or not. There are several places on the web that offer recipes, but ultimately you will find one that you like the combination of veggies and flavors.

http://www.joyofkosher.com/recipes/israeli-salad-2/

Tomato Pie

I was introduced to this in Edisto Island, South Carolina. My dad made one while I was visiting one summer from college. I thought it would be awful and a runny mess. I was so wrong.

1 -9 inch deep pie shell, baked

2-3 large tomatoes, thickly sliced and drained

2-3 Green Onions, chopped (optional) (I have NEVER made mine with this and it still tasted yummers.)

Salt and pepper

Basil

1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup shredded sharp cheese.

(My dad sometimes put a bit of olive oil between layers)

Fill cooled pie shell with alternating layers of tomatoes (and onions) sprinkled with salt, pepper, basil, olive oil (lightly)

Combine mayonnaise and cheese and spread over tomatoes.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Gazpacho

I’ve eaten my mother-in-laws soup and the bowl I had at the Olive and Fish in Jerusalem was divine, so I guess I need to officially add to my list to try and make.

I don’t have my mother in law’s recipe but she doesn’t really write many of her recipes down, so it may take reconstructing. I’m sure there are great recipes out there, and I am open to any suggestions of a good gazpacho.

I found Alton Brown’s which sounded a lot like my mom in-laws. I still have much trial and error to go with this one.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/gazpacho-recipe.html

Caprese Salad

So simple and so good.

2 medium red tomatoes, cut into wedges

2 medium yellow tomatoes, cut into wedges

3/4 cup diced fresh mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

1/4 teaspoon salt

Freshly ground pepper, to taste

We like to add a bit of olive oil as well. Really, what don’t we like to add olive oil to.  I think this may be a rare tomato season, but I’m willing to endure.

I also need to do a nice shout out to Food on Fifth WordPress blog for the recipe which sounds delicious: “a simple sauce, dave’s tomatoes & an ode by pablo neruda”  Worth a look and a try even if I only have Beefsteak tomatoes:

http://foodonfifth.com/2014/07/28/a-simple-sauce-daves-tomatoes-pablo-neruda-ode-to-tomatoes/

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Tomato Time

Add yours

  1. Hasn’t this been just the best year for tomatoes in a long, long time? I so enjoy reading what other folks are doing with their cache of tomatoes. You have a wonderfully interesting blog where you share so many ideas.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Realm of hope

Word to change the world

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

Autism in Our Nest

We are an autism family. We are one loving unit, and autism is a part of who we are.

Cooking Is My Sport

Practice makes perfect, so put me in the game, Coach!

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Chocolate Castles

Recipes, Life Laughs & Hospitality Hints

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Gleaning The Scriptures

Yeshua lives to teach.

SERENDIPITY

Searching for intelligent life on earth

Inspire For A Better Life

Human Rights - Gender Equality - Women's Empowerment

Food for Poetryy

eat, sip, travel, click, pen down poetry = Helps best reflect on life !

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

Elder Advocates

in honor of my Dad, Ronald R. Kirkwood, a victim of elder abuse and guardianship abuse

