Crock Pot Niche

Image

As with many food blogs, the crock pot and slow cooker genre of food is inundated with all types of internet sites. It is overwhelming.  Personally, I haven’t found just one that I would like to follow.  Perhaps I haven’t stumbled upon my niche.

I did find out there is a difference between a crock pot and a slow cooker, and you can read about it here: http://cookinfanatic.wordpress.com/2009/10/19/crock-pots-vs-slow-cookers-yep-theres-a-difference/

On Pinterest there are crock pot and slow cooker blogs you can follow for a recipe each and every day of the year—YES, recipes for each and every day!!  I am not so unique as to be the only person who doesn’t want to use their crock pot each day.  Sushi isn’t going to happen in the slow cooker no matter how handy or reliable it may be.  There are Pinterest slow cooker and crock pot boards for Healthy, warm soups, A year of slow cooking, Favorites, Vegan, Soup, Stew, Chili…desserts.

I approach crock pot and slow cooker recipes like a good thrift store or consignment shopper, I try and go where there is a variety of quality items to choose from AND I sort and sort until I find what I like. Now some folks are high end shoppers and if that works best, and they can afford it then—go for it!  The reality is that I don’t even have a high end slow cooker. It does indeed look much like the photo but green.  It seems odd to me to have really expensive ingredients plopped in a slow cooker. I’m thinking nicer more expensive ingredients deserve and have earned a special preparation. But I think I have digressed.

Now some of my favorite recipes have been delicious but haven’t been from specialty crock pot or slow cooker sites. They have been from regular food blogs. Unfortunately, I noticed that I have pattern of chicken recipes for the slow cooker and the crock pot. Nothing very original, just recipes I knew my family would like.

****Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken from No. 2 Pencil:

http://www.number-2-pencil.com/2013/05/23/slow-cooker-lemon-garlic-chicken/

****Slow Cooker Quinoa, Chicken and Kale Soup:

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2013/12/slow-cooker-quinoa-chicken-kale-soup/

Although I love finding recipes online, I am still cookbook junkie. I have a battered copy of Fix It and Forget It Cookbook by Phyllis Pellman Good. I know she has a blog as well http://fix-itandforget-it.com/blog/  that is full of all the great recipes from the book; I just haven’t used it like I have the book.

I am odd in that there is still something about the recipe card or book that I hold in my hand that I relate to much better.  When I do find recipes I like via Pinterest or the food blog world, I am compelled to write them down and make notes. I adopt them into my kitchen. For the world of crock pots and slow cookers, I will try to add more than just chicken recipes to my electronic space by sorting through the vast amounts of crock pot and slow cooker places, and perhaps I will find my electronic crock pot niche.  http://www.pinterest.com/gloriags/scrumptious/

What are your thoughts?

